Photo-A-Day: Paris

Traveling, Uncategorized

6

It felt surreal looking up at the Eiffel Tower at night as it sparkled brightly every hour for just a few precious moments. My friends and I complained that the sparkling lights didn’t last long enough and that we had to wait at the beginning of every hour to see the breathtaking sight. We were anxious to see it sparkle like a kid on Christmas Eve ready to open presents. But those five short minutes were just enough time for me to reflect on my journey and appreciate all of the blessings that I have received thus far.

As I sipped wine under the massive monument with my friends, I kept gazing at the sparkling lights in utter disbelief. It was hard to wrap my mind around the idea that I was really witnessing one of the most beloved monuments in all of the world. Traveling the globe is not a quest for some people – it is just something that they always knew they would do. Some of the students in my program never doubted that they would be in Paris someday. For others, this weekend was a returning visit.  But it’s different for me. Given my background and upbringing, I never really thought that I would be there. I saw countless pictures of the “city of love” growing up but it never dawned on me that I would be wandering right in the middle of it.

See more at Trails of London 

Leave a Reply

