Fall Semester Highlights

Uncategorized

The fall semester of my senior year proved to be the hardest one yet as I balanced interning 16 hours each week with 17 credit hours, study abroad promotion, community service and a (nonexistent) social life. I truly learned the importance of time management. Despite my hectic schedule, this semester has been the most rewarding one as well. I exceeded my expectations and evolved into a woman to be proud of.

Photo on 10-24-13 at 9.58 PM #2

I worked HARD for this smile! 🙂

Here are my highlights:

1. Media Relations Internship in the Howard University Office of University Communications (OUC)

Interning in the OUC has been one of my best experiences at Howard. My three main goals for the internship was to get communication experience, network with Howard staff and alumni and learn more about my university. I accomplished that and much more! I drafted over 10 press releases, managed the Twitter account during the International STIGMA Conference, helped pitch to media and assisted with organizing the media coverage of the Nelson Mandela exhibit at Howard. For the first time, I built genuine relationships with all of the people in the office and got to know many of them on more personal levels. And through my various projects, I learned a great deal about the greatness of Howard University. This internship was an incredible learning experience that intensified my school pride.

 

20131107_153636

The Bleed Bison Blue campaign that I helped with

2. Straight A’s

While I’m not one to brag about my grades, I have to give myself a pat on the back for my grades this semester. As one who has never received anything less than a “B,” I thought I was delirious when I just wanted to get a “C” in Economics II. That class gave me a worry or two but I’m so proud that I was able to pull my grade up by the end of the semester. On top of that, trying to juggle everything that I was doing professionally with my personal life was no easy task. I hit rock bottom at one point during the semester but I didn’t allow myself to wallow in pity. I got up and hit the books. And it paid off!

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 8.10.34 PM3. Bison Meets World

Planning this event practically on my own was no easy task but I was so proud of the turnout. Over 50 students interested in studying abroad attended the panel discussion, that featured students who studied abroad, our study abroad advisor and representatives from different programs. I received great feedback from the students and the panel so I know the hard work was worth it.

bisonmeetsworld.jpg

IMG_6059

4. Gates Millennium Scholarship presentation

I got the opportunity to present about the Gates Millennium Scholarship at a college luncheon hosted by the Fairfax County Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. It was an honor sharing my story with the high school students and encouraging them to follow their dreams. The feedback I receieved from the women was so inspiring and it really encouraged me to reach for my dream of becoming a motivational speaker … someday.

20131109_110957

 #Gatesscholarselfies

5. Networking

Your network is your networth.

I have heard this time and time again and I see firsthand how true this is. I met a few amazing people who exposed me to different companies, organizations and opportunities. I developed more official and unofficial mentors who are eager to help me navigate my career journey. I am so inspired by my network and excited to maintain these great relationships.

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 8.32.52 PM

Me and my mentor Kim!

Bonus: Visiting the Pentagon with PRSSA 

The public affairs department of the Navy spoke to HUPRSSA and gave us a tour of the Pentagon. An incredible opportunity!

20131115_113631

Welcome 2014. You have some big shoes to fill.

Leave a Reply

