I am a “Destined Scholar”

Destined Scholars, Education, Personal Development, Professional Development

Everyone who knows me knows how serious I am about my education. My mother always reminds me of the incident in the 4th grade where I cried because I didn’t understand how to do long division. She could see back then that I was passionate about my education.

That passion followed me from elementary school to college. When I was in high school, I knew I had to get a scholarship because there was no way that my parents would be able to afford the schools I wanted to attend. Throughout my entire senior year, I applied to dozens of scholarships in hopes that I would be able to afford my education.

Fortunately I earned over $100,000 worth of scholarships, including local scholarships from Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc., and the Make a Difference Foundation.

I was also selected as 1 out of 1000 students to receive the

Bill Gates Millennium Scholarship

Being a Gates Scholar has been the greatest experience of my life thus far. I have the opportunity to go to my dream school for FREE. All of my hard work during primary school paid off the day I received my award letter. And my life has never been the same since.

Being a GMS has been the greatest thing that has happened to me. I am at the school of my dreams, the illustrious Howard University, fulfulling my passion of writing and storytelling as a journalism major with a concentration in public relations.

I am giving my testimony in hopes of inspiring other potential college students. There are many things that I want to do in life, but encouraging students to attend college and succeed in life seems to be my calling.

One important aspect of my blog is to give potential college students resources to prepare for college. As a first generation college student, I didn’t have many people to help me through my journey. And that is why I am so determined to give back. And to help someone else.

We all can be destined scholars.

It just takes hard work, consistency and whole lotta faith!

With love,

Teyonna

Please take the time to view my project to get a glimpse of what life is like through the eyes of a Gates Millennium Scholar.

Leave a Reply

